Reason # 7: Percy Priest Lake

This post is particularly close to home…literally. I grew up less than five minutes away from Percy Priest Lake. I have so many memories centered around this lake and I still visit it often even though I live across town now. I swam and played in the lake as a little kid, had my first fishing experience (which was way grody), and went to the YMCA Camp Widjiwagon right on the lake for several years.

campwidji

Sidebar: If you are looking for a great summer camp I recommend Camp Widjiwagon – my whole family loves it! Learn more about all of their camps here: http://campwidji2-px.rtrk.com/

As a teen I hung out with my friends on the shore and went on frequent runs and walks along the many exercise paths around the lake.

percy priest lake1

This picture was taken on regular summer visit to Percy Priest Lake with my high school friends back in 2009.

Recently I’ve been exploring new parts of the lake with my boyfriend who is new to Nashville. I love discovering new hang outs!

outdoors

We found this HUGE tree stump while the water was lower than normal. It was a pretty cold that day so we weren’t playing in the water, but it’s a geat (free) place to swim in the summer!

If you want more swimming options Nashville Shores is also on the Percy Priest Lake. Nashville Shores is a local water park that offers banana boat rides on the lake!

nashville-shores-waterpark-l

It’s a lot of fun and they’ve recently added a zipline course called Tree Top Adventures! Here’s the website for more info: http://www.nashvilleshores.com/

Obviously, I just can not sing enough praises of Percy Priest Lake. It reminds me of home and is so incredibly gorgeous. If you have a chance check it out!

What are you thinking?